Reflections on Mark Osborne Presentation

Not being in the staff room everyday, I thought I would use this blog as a way of having a conversation with myself (and anyone else out there).

I was lucky enough to be able to sit in on a Presentation from Mark Osborne @mosborne01 this morning after I had done my bit with our in school SOLO Learning Team (I will blog on that later). Anyway, Mark mentioned a few things that reinforced or enlightened me that I thought I should record. Note that the particular lens I often look through is that of someone helping enact the vision of SOLO as a whole school framework for learning.

So, in no particular order:

Keep reminding and engaging staff in the WHY of it

Mark used the “golden Circle” to show this. As a school we had worked with this idea with Julia Atkin in the early 2000’s where her message was start from what you value and believe and then make sure your practices actually align with it. Either way, it reminded me that over time, people forget the why or, with staff turnover, new people have not been part of the conversations and it can be assumed they know the why when they don’t. That is one of the deliberate acts LHS has done regarding SOLO. Anyone new to the school defaults to the SOLO learning team (about 16-17 staff this year). I wonder if more needs to be done to re-remind other staff.

Helping kids help each other be bright

I really liked this notion. I have forgotten the exact wording but something like Not helping the bright kids but helping the kids know how they are bright (I should have written that one down cos I am sure I messed it up). Anyway, SOLO as a framework for learning is all about that. Success = Effort + Effective strategies and SOLO is all about effective strategies just as ICT’s can be.

Groups around one machine

Our journey with BOYD is reasonably new but I have seen it in my sons yr1 classroom last year and I wish I was teaching this year so I could play around with groups of students around one tablet learning from and with each other.

Teaching as inquiry

We are pretty switched on to this but it is another one of those things that you need to keep coming back to the why of it. Our learning teams are directed to engage in using a reflective teaching cycle flow diagram for their professional learning logs. I cannot speak for all learning teams but we had just done one ourselves this morning and then to have an external consultant further validate it is so useful.

The power of John Hattie’s research

One of the challenges of facilitating a group of teachers is to identify their mental models of learning and challenge them if they are incorrect. John Hattie’s meta analysis stuff is brilliant. Mark used it to confront our mental models and then challenge us to think how a BYOD structure could attend to some of the winners in terms of raising student achievement. You can use the same research to help show the why of SOLO as a framework for learning. SOLO can attend to at least 5 of the top ten in Hattie’s list.

BYOD to share notes

One of my takeaway ideas from Marks presentation is that next time I have a class in front of me, I would like to get them collaborating using Google docs on revision notes or something like that. I usually pick out some great notes that students have made and (with their permission) share them with the class but I would like to explore the potential of a shared doc where they can critique and contribute outside of class time (even if it means learning from each other because I didn’t do a good enough job to grab them on that day or that week)

Reciprocal teaching from students to other students to show extended abstract thinking/knowledge

There is room here somewhere to really empower student to demonstrate extended abstract knowledge by testing how well they can teach others. I am not sure yet how I would facilitate this but if it was made visible to the students, I think it could be a really motivating and empowering process.

Right, just some quick notes. I have to blast to go pick up my son from school.

One response to “Reflections on Mark Osborne Presentation

  1. Mark Osborne

    Glad you enjoyed the session Craig. That quotation from Howard Gardener via Jane Gilbert is ‘It’s not if you are bright, it’s how you are bright.’ It’s a great way to think about kids and learning.

Leave a Reply

